guatemala 2014 | shot by tess

GM2013-410 GM2013-408 GM2013-310 GM2013-242

This girl is heading south of the border again in August!

What?! What?!

If you didn’t know that I went to Guatemala last year on a mission trip, you can check out the posts here, here and here.

I’m über excited to go back!! Last year was so amazing and I can honestly say that I have never experienced something like it. It is so beautifully chaotic. I learned so much about myself, about God and about people (in Spokane and in Guatemala). I took some of the best pictures I’ve ever taken and it sparked a fire inside of my heart that I hope never goes away.

I fell in love with the people there and it was actually very hard to leave!

It was a ton of hard work and very long days and I will never complain about being hot ever again…like ever…or about bugs. The heat down there was SUPER intense! You can not be a princess down there. Not that I am one, but even some of the smallest things were missed. Like flushing your toilet paper instead of throwing it away.

It was a bit rough for the team right before we left. We were a team of 10 and then it came down to just 6. But it was amazing and perfect really. The 6 of us have such an incredible friendship because of everything and I can promise you that all of us are so thankful for everyone who prayed and helped us get there.

I know, I know….You probably already know what’s coming…What I ask is that you hear me out and keep an open heart.

The total cost of the trip is $2,500 per person. There are 12 people on our team, that’s $30,000 total. Yikes! But, we are raising the money as a team, so what someone contributes does not only go to one person, but to all of us.

I’m asking you to step out in as much faith as we are and join our team. Money is a touchy subject and I understand how tight things can be. So what I’m actually asking, is for you to pray for me. Pray for the whole team. Pray for the people that we will be serving. Pray for everyone’s safety. Pray for the team’s families who will be anxious for us.

Just pray about it and if you do feel God press upon your heart to help get us there financially,  we will be forever grateful. You will be making an enteral investment and I believe that God will bless you for your faithfulness. It will give you the chance to be a part of our team as much as we are. It’d just be in a different way.  Even though I went last year, I still struggle asking for financial support because I believe in working hard for what you earn, but I know that I will be working very hard. For you and for the people we will be serving.

“Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.  And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:14-19 (NIV).

You can give either online or by mailing in a check (Eastpoint Church, 15303 E. Sprague Ave., Ste. A, Spokane Valley, WA 99037).

  • CHECK: make your check payable to Eastpoint Church; write Guatemala on the check, but do not write anyone’s name.
  • ONLINE: www.eastpointchurch.org/give-online/; select One-time Gift, then Other and enter Guatemala and the team member’s name in the Description field on the payment page.

*Per IRS Pub 526 regulations, donations are non-refundable.  If there is a surplus for the project and/or if any team member is unable to make the trip, funds donated for this project will be used to further equip the Eastpoint Missions Team and/or Fundación La Misión with supplies, equipment and resources needed to continue the mission to build relationships and reach people for Jesus.*

No matter which way you choose to support, know that I’m super grateful for you! Money is secondary (and it’s also a tax deduction). Your prayer support is first and foremost for the whole team.

Thank you SO much for reading this and I hope that you will stay up to date with me. I will be posting pictures as soon as we get back, plus if you haven’t seen the pictures from last year, you should check them out! If you have questions, you can always email me at shotbytess@live.com

 

Leave a Reply

